destiny

About a month ago, I had absolutely reached my sleep deprivation limits, and my husband more or less forced me out of the house to spend the night in a hotel to get some rest. Did I sleep? Not really. BUT, I did get Pei-Wei take out, chocolate peanut butter cupcakes and watched four movies in my big king size bed, without interruption. Amazing!

One of the movies I watched was 127 Hours, you know, “the one about the guy who cuts off his arm.” The movie is based on an unattached thrill-seeker named Aron Ralston, who, while hiking alone, gets his arm wedged between a rock and a desert cave wall. He survives 5 days (127 Hours) with limited water. This guy is seriously Macgyver X 35. It is an amazing movie and you should watch it today. Just look away when he cuts off his arm. Blech!!

Anyway, to the point of my entry today. In the movie, Aron reflects on his life as if, from day one, he had been on a life-long crash course with this rock. All of the paths in his life led him to that day, that cave, that rock. Only a premonition of the life he has yet to live gives him to strength to change his destiny. (Interesting sidenote–when park rangers went out to retrieve the arm, it took 13 men, a winch and a hydraulic jack to move the boulder. He was most definitely not supposed to make it out of there.)

Now, I know I am getting deep here, but stay with me. I think of all of the special moments in my life and all of things that make me who I am. Nearly 10 years ago, at some random college party, I unknowingly met the man I would eventually marry. Through this simple meeting, my life, which was on track to head to school in Chicago, has moved from Missouri to Texas to Arizona to Virginia. I went from an English Major to full-time business professional to mom to college student to mom again. I went from sorority girl, to Army groupie, to mom’s group member.

I guess what I am trying to say is that regardless of the path that life takes, it is important to always be aware of your own “boulder.” It is absolutely impossible to predict the future. But, it is possible to be prepared for it by living each day to the absolute fullest and appreciating all the things that make your life wonderful, from small things, like Kashi’s Dark Mocha Almond Granola Bars (which I am OBSESSED with) to nights on the patio with your husband, marveling at the fact that two children you have created are asleep inside your home. Never miss an opportunity to make your life your own and to enjoy the stumbles and falls. Just watch out for falling rocks.  

Cheers,

Mommydiarist

P.S. Sorry if this is a little too preachy-like. I actually slept for like 5 hours straight last night, and I am almost giddy with well-rested ambition.

3 responses to “destiny

  1. Feel free to leave comments!! 🙂

  2. Becky, you are such a talented writer, and a thoughtful person and mommy! It’s great when you see a movie that sparks so many thoughts on your own life, and even more great when you get sent to a hotel to watch it, I’d imagine! I wasn’t sure I could handle this one, but I have seen him on tv and he is an impressive person. Keep up the good work with your blog!

  3. Great post girly! Thanks for the thought-provoking post!!

Leave a Reply

