dear moments

Spent a good part of last night turning my baby boy over from his tummy to his back, only to wipe more tears away an hour later when he would get stuck on his tummy again. Repeat. Repeat. Repeat. Once he got over, he just couldn’t figure out how to get back over again. His poor arm would be straight out while his legs were contorting him into some sort of A-frameish head-stand-like shape. Poor guy.

Luckily, we have a video monitor. Uh, right. The video monitor is like the coolest, worst invention ever. While I should’ve been fast asleep, I was laying in bed, staring at the video monitor, waiting for him to do it again. I kept wanting to wake my husband up to show him how cute our little man was being, but remembered it was 2am, 3am, 5:30am. Sigh.

My daughter, while relatively quiet through the night these days, always knows how to absolutely freak me out to get the day started. A couple of days ago, when I went to get her out of bed, she told me, in her own matter of fact way, “There’s a ghost in my bed, mommy.” I asked, “Where?” She replied, like I should already know and with thumb still in mouth, “Orver dere,” and pointed to the opposite corner of her crib.

Freaky. Visions of that Sixth Sense movie with the creepy kid sent shivers up my spine. I asked what the ghost was doing, still reeling, but intrigued, as I have a very impressionable imagination. She then told me, “The giant is in my clubhouse.” Whoa, this kid has an imagination, too. Think we need to cut back on the Scooby-Doo DVDs.

Trying to keep up my posts, but am cross-eyed from video-monitor induced sleep deprivation. Just wanted to hopefully share a few smiles with you this afternoon.

Cheers,

mommydiarist

P.S. I love that last picture! I am shooting in RAW now (whatever that means) on my DSLR , and I think it looks like she is running into some crazy dream world in the den. Maybe she is…..

4 responses to “dear moments

  1. LOVE this! Hope HTA learns how to roll back soon so you can get back to sleeping! And SJ is the coolest toddler EVER!! Good post! Keep them coming!
    Love, Sarah 🙂

  2. Wouldn’t you know! Just as I hit “publish,” the little guy got stuck again. Guess he knew I was writing about him!

  3. Feel free to leave comments, rants, accolades, advice or random thoughts!

  4. WOW!! I’m not even sure if B knows what a ghost would be! How on earth do they learn these things!! Get some rest Becky–but i hear you, i love listening on the monitor to hear baby snores 🙂

Leave a Reply

