How do you recover?

Morning from H-E-L-L.

I am generally a positive person, but seriously, what an absolute craptastic start to the day! Let the whining ensue. I hurt my back. I guess I should expect things like that since I am an old lady now. Have no clue what happened, but it’s not like I can just not pick Huck up, so I am just struggling through it with Aleve and Icy Hot (again, old lady). It hurts to work out, so the lack of activity is making me nuts, especially since I ate everything in sight this weekend. Huck would not stop fussing, mostly because I would not let him pull up on the entertainment center and fulfill his daily quest to live dangerously. My Keurig did that thing where it gave me a super short cup for no explicable reason. Juney is on a mission to make school mornings especially unbearable, maybe so in my insanity I will give up and keep her home. We  put on at least 5 pairs of shoes this morning before she decided on one to wear. Then, she threw a fit at preschool, so I’m fighting with her to get her jacket off, holding onto Huck while wincing in pain, and all the while, wishing I could just go back to bed and start the day over in hopes that maybe this was all a joke. Is this my life?

But, now I must turn it around. Juney’s at school; Huck is sleeping. Shake it off, shake it off. I can do this. I am capable. I am motivated. Yes, I am in serious pain and the caffeine ain’t working yet, but seriously, how lame can I possibly be? Even I think I am being a whiny baby.

I need some peace.

Thank you, Jerry Garcia. 🙂 While I do not share your affinity for hallucinogenic drugs, you are one of my musical soul mates.

Would really love to hear how you recover from absolutely horrific morning fiascos! In my quest to not be the “mean mommy,” I need all the help I can get.

3 responses to “How do you recover?

  1. Leave your comments here!!! Would love to hear from some of you!

  2. Gene just said “I wish I’d known I would have gone and helped her”. Maybe he would have taken Huck to work to give you the morning off 🙂

  3. I realize I’m a bit late with the reply, but I figured I’d chime in. I really enjoy night drives, preferably with some good music on. Being in the DC area, I love driving around DC in the middle of the night. I haven’t really gotten a chance to do this much recently; however, Monster Bash gave me a reason to a couple weeks ago. He wasn’t sleeping, it was my shift with him (until 4 am) and I was … lets just say unhappy with him. Long story short, I grabbed a coffee at McDonalds at about 1 am and began to drive. First from Tyson’s to Mclean, then to Vienna and the GMU campus in Fairfax, then to DC via Georgetown… and back home. He slept the whole time, and it turned out to be pretty calming.

Leave a Reply

